• We are a collective of like minded people who are passionate about their music, art and politics, sometimes we like to mash it all up and sometimes keep it separate. We are a free form radio station with no formats or playlists or genres that DJs have to adhere to. We have few rules, but the main rule is no fascists, racists, sexists, homophobes or religious presenters. The music and politics and art is mainly leftist and alternative and a motto of the station is we’re not here to break the law with an illegal radio station just to play bland pop music, that is available on many of the state and corporate stations. Radioactive International has nearly 40 DJ’s playing a varied mixture of alternative music from punk, metal, ska, reggae and historical recordings. We broadcast online but also transmit live from gigs and festivals.
  • Information

    This article was written on 14 Dec 2018, and is filled under Alternative, Documentary, Folk, Justice, Labour, Politics, Protest.

    Current post is tagged

    , ,

    1913 Lockout Podcast – Episode 4 – Media

    1913 Lockout Podcast – Episode 4 – Media

    The fourth episode of the 1913 Unfinished Business series on the centenary of the Lockout takes a look at the history and influence of independent radical print media, and the role independent and critical media can play in countering the mainstream today.

    We listen to Lecturer Harry Browne and Historian Conor McCabe speak about the importance of independent media.

    The podcast also takes a look at the profile of both William Martin Murphy, and the current owner of Independent News and Media, Denis O’Brien.

    Henry Silke of Critical Media Review joins James Redmond and Paul Reynolds from Rabble in a roundtable discussion examining the role and constraints of radical print media.

    Featuring: Moira Murphy, Harry Browne, Conor McCabe, Fiona Dunkin, Shane Fitzgerald, Henry Silke, James Redmond, Paul Reynolds

    Co-ordination/Recording: Shane Fitzgerald, Alan Dunne

    Post production: Jen O’Leary (edit) and Thom McDermot (edit and mastering)

    With thanks to: Rabble, Harry Browne, Conor McCabe, Henry Silke

    Comments are closed.